califonia-title
Pulsa aqui para Espanol  Espanol
Doan Law Firm, LLP - Senior Partners
 
Call Today! - 888-DOAN-LAW
 

Contact Us Today!


Virtual AttorneyTM

Our new Virtual Attorney TM video series offers great information on the Southern California Bankruptcy filing process. Updated frequently, click below to see the latest videos!

Convenient Locations

We have offices all throughout Southern California! Click here to find one near you!

Doan Law Firm, LLP - Convenient Office Locations Throughout Southern California

Proud Affiliates Of:

Doan Law Firm, LLP - NACBA Member
Doan Law Firm, LLP - Better Business Bureau
Doan Law Firm, LLP - San Juan Capistrano Chamber Of Commerce  Doan Law Firm, LLP - South Orange County Chamber Of Commerce

California DUI Laws

California Drunk Driving Statutes arise from the Vehicle Code. They are typically referred to as "Count A" and "Count B." Typically, an arrested person is charged with both Count A and Count B in a DUI arrest, although it is possible to be solely charged with either Count A or Count B by itself.

California Vehicle Code 23152 (a)

It is unlawful for any person who is under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or under the combined influence of any alcoholic beverage and drug, to drive a vehicle.

This statute essentially states that it is illegal to drive any vehicle if alcohol is influencing your actions. It is a rather subjective statute and is generally written in conjunction with 23152(b). It primarily focuses on the condition of the driver. To be convicted of violating this law, the driver must be found that he or she was unable to operate their vehicle with the caution characteristic of a sober person. Evidence there will include driving patterns, field sobriety test performance, physical symptoms, and chemical test results. Even if you have a legal blood alcohol (BAC of 0.03) you still may be considered under the influence and cited for a DUI under this provision!

California Vehicle Code 23152 (b)

It is unlawful for any person who has 0.08 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle.

This statute attempts to draw a bright line between legal and illegal acts, depending upon blood alcohol content as measured by scientific instruments, and has no focus on the condition of the motorist. It is this statute that also triggers the California DMV proceeding as well.

The BAC level is based upon the percent, by weight, of alcohol in a person's blood, based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. There is also a reputable presumption that any test within 3 hours of the driving act which shows 0.08 or more means that the BAC was also 0.08 or more at the time of driving.

Nevertheless, 23152(b) can be a confusing statute, since alcohol levels change over time, and presumptions can be rebutted. Just because a California DUI arrestee gave a breath or blood test at the police building that was more than the legal limit doesn't mean that the motorist was above the limit at the time they were behind the wheel.

There are other statutes as well under California Vehicle Code 23152

(c) It is unlawful for any person who is addicted to the use of any drug to drive a vehicle. This subdivision shall not apply to a person who is participating in a narcotic treatment program approved pursuant to Article 3 (commencing with Section 11875) of Chapter 1 of Part 3 of Division 10.5 of the Health and Safety Code.

(d) It is unlawful for any person who has 0.04 percent or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in Section 15210.

San Diego County
Carlsbad
Escondido
La Mesa
Doan Law Firm, LLP
635 Camino De Los Mares
Suite 100
San Clemente, CA 92673
(888) 362.6529


Site Map | Creditor Resources
Los Angeles Bankruptcy
Orange County Bankruptcy
Riverside Bankruptcy
Los Angeles Bankruptcy Attorney
Orange County Bankruptcy Attorney
Riverside Bankruptcy Attorney
Los Angeles Bankruptcy Attorneys
Orange County Bankruptcy Attorneys
Riverside Bankruptcy Attorneys
Los Angeles Bankruptcy Lawyer
Orange County Bankruptcy Lawyer
Riverside Bankruptcy Lawyer
Los Angeles Bankruptcy Lawyers
Orange County Bankruptcy Lawyers
Riverside Bankruptcy Lawyers
 







  •          

    Laguna Hills Bankruptcy
    25401 Cabot Rd.
    Suite 113
    Laguna Hills, CA 92653
    Call 888-362-6529

    Santa Ana Bankruptcy
    930 West Seventeenth St.
    Suite C
    Santa Ana, CA 92706
    Call 714-795-3536

    Corona Bankruptcy
    1411 Rimpau Ave.
    Suite 108
    Corona, CA 92879
    Call 909-708-4597

    Moreno Valley Bankruptcy
    24490 Sunnymead Blvd.
    Suite 101
    Moreno Valley, CA 92553
    Call 951-579-4756

    Watsonville Bankruptcy
    444 Airport Blvd.
    Suite 109
    Watsonville, CA 95075
    Call 888-362-6529

    Oceanside Bankruptcy
    1930 S Coast Hwy
    Suite 206
    Oceanside, CA 92054
    Call 760-450-3333

    Chula Vista Bankruptcy
    333 H Street
    Suite 5000
    Chula Vista, CA 91910
    Call 619-500-6535

    Escondido Bankruptcy
    320 East 2nd Ave.
    Suite 108
    Escondido, CA 92025
    Call 760-746-4476

    La Mesa Bankruptcy
    4817 Palm Ave.
    Suite I
    La Mesa, CA 91942
    Call 619-462-362

    San Diego Bankruptcy
    185 West F St
    Suite 100
    San Diego, CA 92101
    Call 619-234-3626